Fat Stack o’ Flapjacks

It’s kind of weird that my first two blogged recipes are both for breakfasts featuring foraged goods, but I guess it’s just the way the muffin crumbles. Despite my pretty adventurous culinary background, I just cooked up my very first batch of pancakes a few days ago! For those, I mixed in chia seeds and farkleberries (a kind of tiny, wild blueberry growing on our land). Mmm… SO good! I had never even been much of a pancake fan, but one of my friends had a pancake breakfast for her birthday a few months back and the varied pancake flavors they had on offer at that restaurant got my wheels turning. I felt inspired to come up with some truly unique pancake recipes. So, today, I gathered some juniper berries and created this:

Henbit blossoms, orange zest and juniper berries.

Not your average joe pancake batter.

Cake on the griddle.

Orange Juniper Griddlecakes

All amounts are approximate, do what makes sense to you.

  • A small handful fresh, juicy juniper berries
  • All the zest from one orange, or two oranges would be even better
  • Handful of maca powder (for those who keep weird shit like that around)
  • 2 cups Bisquick or the like
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 2 eggs
  • Flesh of one orange, diced
  • Stick of butter, for grilling and topping
  • Molasses, for topping
  • Henbit flowers, for garnish
  1. Heat griddle or skillet on medium high.
  2. Mix Bisquick and maca powder in a round bottom mixing bowl.
  3. Add the milk and eggs into the bowl and whisk everything together until smooth.
  4. Stir in juniper berries (but keep a few for garnish) and orange zest.
  5. Grease skillet with butter.
  6. Ladle small portions of batter onto hot griddle and cook briefly.
  7. Flip over, cook briefly. That flapjack’s finished.
  8. Repeat 5-7 with the rest of the batter. Keep done ones warm in the oven if you like your hotcakes hot.
  9. Melt remaining butter and stir together with some molasses.
  10. Stack ’em up and top with diced orange. Generously pour warm molasses/butter mix over your stack.  Sprinkle a couple juniper berries and henbit flowers on top to make it all pretty.
  11. Devour!

Now, that's what I call a fucking fat stack of flapjacks!

This recipe makes about a dozen griddlecakes, depending on size. Oh, and I nearly forgot my secret ingredient… one sweet, juicy baby!

My delectable secret ingredient.

~ by jessima1111 on February 1, 2012.

One Response to “Fat Stack o’ Flapjacks”

  1. legit! you are a baller

Leave a Reply

 
